Official Seal of the General Convention

Executive Council

The Executive Council

About the Executive Council

The Executive Council of the Episcopal Church is an elected body representing the whole Church. In the course of the three years between convention, known as the "triennium", the Executive Council will customarily meet once in each of the nine provinces of the Episcopal Church.

The Executive Council has the duty to carry out programs and policies adopted by General Convention. It is the job of Executive Council to oversee the ministry and mission of the Church. The Executive Council is comprised of twenty members elected by General Convention (four bishops, four priests or deacons and twelve laypersons) and eighteen members elected by provincial synods.

Click Here for Executive Council Group Information

(Click the above link for the mandate, membership roster, planned meeting dates, documents and related groups of the Executive Council).